Dr. Matthias Heinemann

Full Professor
Ph.D. RWTH Aachen University of Technology, 2003
Dipl.-Ing. University of Stuttgart, 1999

Administrative assistant

Renate van der Tuuk

Lab manager

Silke Vedelaar

PhD students

Haoqi Chen

Ph.D. candidate: systems biology
M.Sc. Bioinformatics, College of Ecology and Evolution, Sun Yat-sen University, 2016
B.S. Biotechnology, School of Life Science, Sun Yat-sen University, 2014

Douwe Grundel

Ph.D. candidate: computational systems biology
M.Sc. Bioinformatics & Systems Biology, University of Amsterdam & VU Amsterdam, 2019
B.S. Biology, University of Groningen, 2017

Xiang Li

Ph.D. candidate: biochemistry and molecular biology
M.Sc.Eng. Fermentation Engineering, Jiangnan University, 2018
B.Eng. Biological Engineering, Jiangnan University, 2015

Serdar Ozsezen

Ph.D. candidate: chemical engineering
M.Sc. Chemical Engineering, Bogazici University, 2015
B.S. Chemical Engineering, Anadolu University, 2012

Mattia Rovetta

Ph.D. candidate: systems biology
M.Sc. Molecular Biology, University of Milan, 2018
B.S. Biotechnology, University of Milan, 2013

Joana Taborda Saldida Alves

Ph.D. candidate: metabolic engineering
M.Sc. Chemical Engineering, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon University, 2015

Vakil Takhaveev

Ph.D. candidate: systems biology
M.Sc. Bioinformatics, Leiden University Medical Center, 2015
B.S. Bioengineering and Bioinformatics, Moscow State University (MSU), 2015

Hanna Terpstra

Ph.D. candidate: molecular biology
M.Sc. Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, University of Groningen, 2018
B.S. Life Science and Technology, University of Leiden, 2016

José Vila Chã Losa

Ph.D. candidate: biochemical engineering, systems biology
M.Sc. Bioengineering, University of Porto, 2019
B.S. Bioengineering, University of Porto, 2019

Bachelor and Master students

  • Catherine Loukogiannaki, University of Athens
  • Hugo Markus, University of Groningen
  • David Mertens, University of Groningen
  • Ronja Wabeke, University of Groningen
  • Serj Koshian, University of Groningen
  • Kerlen Korbeld, University of Groningen


Postdoctoral scholars

  • Diego Alonso Martinez, 2018-2019
  • Ernest Liu, 2018-2019
  • Francisca Sarreira Simoes Horta Monteiro, 2016-2018
  • Hannah Schramke, 2016-2018
  • Robson de Assis Souza, 2015-2016
  • Georg Hubmann, 2013-2016
  • Alvaro Ortega Moreno, 2013-2017
  • Anne Meinema, 2011-2014
  • Guillermo Zampar, 2011-2013
  • Chetak Shetty, 2010-2011
  • Sung-Sik Lee, 2008-2009

Ph.D. students in Groningen and Zurich

  • Tom Kimkes, Ph.D., 2019, Thesis: Surface sensing in Escherichia coli
  • Zheng Zhang, Ph.D., 2018, Thesis: Single-cell manipulation and dynamic metabolite detection in Escherichia coli
  • Brenda Bley Folly, Ph.D., 2018, Thesis: Fructose-1,6-bisphosphate and its role on the flux-dependent regulation of metabolism
  • Simeon Leupold, Ph.D., 2018, Thesis: Thermodynamic and stoichiometric constraint-based inference of metabolic phenotypes
  • Alexandros Papagiannakis, Ph.D., 2017, Thesis: Intrinsic, periodic and tunable metabolic dynamics: a scaffold for cellular coherence
  • Jakub Radzikowski, Ph.D., 2017, Thesis: Systems biology of bacterial persistence, a metabolism-driven strategy for survival
  • Athanasios Litsios, Ph.D., 2017, Thesis: Metabolic-rate dependent cell cycle entry and progression in Saccharomyces cerevisiae
  • Georges Janssens, Ph.D., 2016, Thesis: A system wide view of replicative aging in budding yeast
  • Bastian Niebel, Ph.D., 2015, Thesis: Thermodynamic principles governing metabolic operations Inference, analysis and prediction
  • Daphne Huberts, Ph.D., 2015, Thesis: The impact of metabolism on aging and cell size in single yeast cells
  • Stefan Jol, Ph.D., 2014, Thesis: Model-based experimental data integration of microbial metabolism
  • Mareike Schmidt, Ph.D., 2014, Thesis: Flux-signaling and flux-dependent regulation in Saccharomyces cerevisiae
  • Benjamin Volkmer, Ph.D., 2011, Thesis: Metabolism drives phenotypic bistability and persister cell formation in Escherichia coli
  • Oliver Kotte, Ph.D., 2009, Thesis: Reverse engineering of a metabolic, noise-exploiting control design
  • Anne Kümmel, Ph.D., 2008, Thesis: Integrating thermodynamics-based modeling and quantitative experimental data for studying microbial metabolism

Bachelor and Master students in Groningen

  • Alexine de Wit, 2019, University of Groningen
  • Lianne Mulder, 2019, University of Groningen
  • Egle Kybartaite, 2018, Vytautas Magnus University
  • Marten Chaillet , 2018, University of Groningen
  • Maaike Sangster, 2018, University of Groningen
  • Oane Gros, 2018, University of Groningen
  • Michelle Scharte, 2018, University of Groningen
  • Floor Schukking, 2018, University of Groningen
  • Tijn de Leeuw, 2018, University of Gronignen
  • Linea Muhsal, 2017, Wageningen University
  • Natalia Łazarewicz, 2017, University of Wrocław
  • Joni Gallagher, 2017, University of Groningen
  • Tim Meijer, 2017, University of Groningen
  • Justin Norder, 2017, University of Groningen
  • Eefke van Olst, 2017, University of Groningen
  • Pieter Blom, 2017, University of Groningen
  • Joris Oosterhof, 2017, University of Groningen
  • Cas Cornet, 2017, Hanze Hogeschool
  • Milou Hoving, 2017, Hanze Hogeschool
  • Marta Pałka, 2016, University of Wrocław
  • Fleur Ruijne, 2016, University of Groningen
  • Jim Ottelé, 2016, University of Groningen
  • Ivan Frák, 2016, Masaryk University
  • Vitali Laba, 2016, Hanze Hogeschool
  • Santiago Cano-Muniz, 2015, University of Groningen
  • Janeska de Jonge, 2015, University of Groningen
  • Neus Mestre Farrás, 2015, University of Groningen
  • Anna Stejskalova, 2014, University of Groningen
  • Ruben Vazquez Uribe, 2014, University of Groningen
  • Sebastiaan van Kessel, 2014, University of Groningen
  • Michael Verhoeven, 2014, University of Groningen
  • Rieza Aprianto, 2013, University of Groningen
  • Marius Uebel, 2013, University of Groningen
  • Marten Exterkate, 2013, University of Groningen
  • Martijn Zwama, 2013, University of Groningen
  • Michael Verhoeven, 2012, University of Groningen
  • Laura Schippers, 2012, University of Groningen
  • Renseke van Raaphorst, 2012, University of Groningen
  • Tom van Lente, 2012, University of Groningen
  • Yoep Hoekzema, 2012, University of Groningen
  • Jonathon Parrish, 2012, University of Groningen
  • Aline van der Veen, 2012, University of Groningen
  • Sandra Tamerl, 2012, FH Graz
  • Lukas Horn, 2012, ETH Zurich
  • Mareille van den Esker, 2011, University of Groningen
  • Yared Paalvast, 2011, University of Groningen